Jan 12, 2012

Leo Messi – FIFA World Player of the Year 2011

FC Barcelona’s Lionel Messi has taken home his third straight FIFA World Player of the Year Award, cementing his legacy at the ripe old age of 24. Messi received the Ballon d’Or for 2011, beating out club teammate Xavi Hernandez and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo. The only other three-time winners in the history of the beautiful game are Ronaldo (1996-97, 2002) and Zinedine Zidane (1998, 2000, 2003). Messi scored 55 goals in 2011 for Barcelona, which won its third Champions League title in six seasons and four goals for Argentina’s national team.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...